County Limerick Burial Grounds Awards Take Place

From: Dunphy Public Relations
Published: Fri Dec 19 2008

The awards are organised by Limerick County Council in recognition of the commitment of voluntary parish committees, groups and individuals in maintaining burial grounds.

Guest speaker at the event was Mr. Pat McAfee, expert stone mason, conservation consultant and author of "Irish Stone Walls and Stone Buildings".

Speaking at the awards ceremony, Cllr. John Gallahue, Cathaoirleach of Limerick County Council, "The people of rural Ireland have always had a deep respect for their dead and, by extension, for their local burial ground. Each year, the Council tries to encourage the work of the local burial ground committees by means of a modest grant."

He continued, "This year, over 100 groups of individuals looking after approximately 162 burial grounds received such aid. This has been the case now for a long number of years and, two years ago, it was decided that it would be appropriate to inaugurate an awards system with the aim of highlighting and rewarding groups who have shown particular commitment and initiative in following best practice in their work."

"I see an awards scheme as a positive development and would envisage that it would be continued and built upon in future years. I am glad to see that the spirit of volunteerism is still alive and well in County Limerick and long may it continue to be so," concluded the Cathaoirleach.

The winners of the burial ground competition under the category of "Ancient" were as follows: Grange (Newcastle West Electoral Area), Cahercorney (Kilmallock Electoral Area), Cahernorry (Castleconnell Electoral Area) and Kilcoleman Old (Rathkeale Electoral Area and overall category winner)

The winners of the burial ground competition under the category of "Modern" were as follows: Effin (Kilmallock Electoral Area) Caherelly (Castleconnell Electoral Area) Kilcoleman New (Rathkeale Electoral Area), and Glengort-Tournafulla (Newcastle West Electoral Area and Overall Category Winner).


Mark Dunphy
Dunphy Public Relations
Company: Dunphy Public Relations
Contact Name: Dunphy Public Relations
Contact Email:
Contact Phone: 00353868534900

Visit website »