Summer Works Approved For 6 Additional Clare Schools

From: Dunphy Public Relations
Published: Tue Jun 08 2010

The Clare T.D. said the three Primary and three Secondary schools have successfully secured grants to undertake small scale works following respective appeals to the Department of Education and Skills. The schools were not originally included in a list of 49 Clare schools, announced in April.

The annual scheme covers school projects such as electrical and mechanical works, roof replacements and repairs, window replacement, toilet upgrades, structural improvements and access works.

Minister Killeen said: "I am delighted to see that this year’s Summer Works Scheme will benefit a total of 42 primary schools and 13 post-primary schools across County Clare. The investment will also create much-needed jobs in the local construction sector. I now urge schools to ensure that they get best value for money on prices for jobs in the more competitive construction market."

The Clare Fianna Fail Deputy said the Government remained committed to delivering improvements in the quality of existing primary and post-primary school accommodation throughout Clare despite the current fiscal constraint.

The additional Clare schools allocated funds following an appeal include Stonehall NS, Newmarket on Fergus (Toilets); CBS Bunscoil, Ennis (Roof Works); Inchicronan Central NS, Crusheen (Mechanical); Scoil Mhuire, Ennistymon (Roof Works); St. Joseph’s, Spanish Point (Curricular Requirements); and Ennistymon Vocational School (Electrical Upgrade).

Original Primary Schools List:
Cratloe N.S., Mullagh N.S., Quin N.S., Flagmount N.S. (Mechanical); Holy Family Snr. N.S. Ennis, Kilnaboy N.S., Liscannor N.S., Kilmurry N.S, Sn Iosef Naofa An Mhaigh and S N Cathair Aodha Lissycasey (Toilets); St. Fachnan and St Attractas N.S. Kilfenora, Killaloe Boys N.S., Annagh N.S. Miltown Malbay, Barefield N.S., O’Briensbridge N.S., Ballycar N.S., Parteen N.S., Ennis Convent and Lissycasey N.S. (Windows); New Quay N.S., Clohanes N.S., Inch N.S., Tullabrack N.S, Knockanean N.S., Moyasta N.S., Shannon Airport No 2 N.S. and St Mochullas N.S. (External Environment); Rockmount N.S., Tubber N.S., Kilmaley N.S., Ballyvaughan N.S. and Lisdoonvarna N.S. (Roofs); Clohanbeg N.S. Cree and Scoil Na Maighdine Mhuire Newmarket-On-Fergus (Electrical); Cooraclare B N.S. and Fanore N.S. (Access For All); and Corofin N.S., Cahermurphy N.S. Kilmihil and SN Colm Cille Ennistymon (Structural Improvements).

Original Post-Primary Schools List:
St Anne’s Community College Killaloe and Shannon Comprehensive School (Windows);
Kilrush Community School, Scariff Community College, Scoil Mhuire Ennistymon and Mary Immaculate Secondary School Lisdoonvarna (Roofs); St. Joseph's Secondary School Tulla (Mechanical); Ennis Community College Ennis (Access For All); Ennistymon Vocational School (Electrical); and St Joseph's Community College Kilkee (Toilets).


Notes to Editor:
- For further information please contact Mark Dunphy of Dunphy Public Relations on 00353868534900 or media ( @ ) dunphypr dot com
- High-resolution images of Minister Killeen are available to download from
Company: Dunphy Public Relations
Contact Name: Mark Dunphy
Contact Email:
Contact Phone: 00353868534900

Visit website »