New committee for the eLearning Network

From: eLearning Network
Published: Mon Dec 11 2006

Following the success of the eLearning Network (eLN)’s ‘The Whole Show’ conference on instructional design (at the end of September), the eLN has recorded another success with its ‘How Much Per Hour?’ conference, held in London on 24th November.

This well-attended day was organised by eLN committee member Jan Seabrook, and 93 per cent of the delegates noted ‘complete satisfaction’ with the day’s events in their feedback.

A comment by Mark Tointon, of Excelearnt Ltd, epitomised the mood of the day. He said: "It was my second day-conference with the eLN.

"Again, there was consistent high quality. My company will be joining!"

Prior to this conference, the eLN held its annual general meeting, at which the Network’s steering committee for 2006/07 was confirmed as:
• Neil Lasher (Trainer1)
• Jan Seabrook (Conation Technologies)
• Mike Corker ((LogicaCMG)
• Howard Hills (Howard Hills Associates)
• Phil Green (Optimum Learning)
• Geoff Berridge (Parataxis)
• Mike Alcock (Atlantic Link)
• Jason Woodford (Academy Internet)
• Angus Turpin (Giunti Labs)
• Alex Welsh (Head Light Communications)
• Adam Woods (Logica CMG) (co-opted)

Phil Green, the eLN’s chairman, explained: "All of these people are well known thought leaders within the UK’s corporate e-learning industry. We also hope to add a couple of other of the industry’s key players to the committee early in the New Year.

"Each member of the committee has specific duties which include the organisation of conferences, of which at least six are held regularly through the year and which explore key issues, techniques and technologies concerned with the electronic delivery of learning materials. Other duties of committee members include gathering information and data for the benefit of members, dealing with queries, managing collaboration with other trade organisations and publishers, and organising the most rigorous and prestigious Annual eLearning Awards in the calendar."

For the first time in the eLN’s history, members of the committee will be given areas of special responsibility. For 2006/07, these are:
• Phil Green …Chairman
• Geoff Berridge …Treasurer
• Neil Lasher …Membership Secretary
• Howard Hills …Awards Co-ordinator
• Mike Alcock …Marketing Communications Manager

Standing down from the eLN committee of 2005/06 were: Vaughan Waller, Ian Lee-Emery and Nige Howarth. Phil Green paid tribute to their commitment to, and leadership of, the eLN at this time of rapid development for the e-learning industry.


Notes for Editors:

About the eLearning Network

Formed – as The Association for Computer Based Training (TACT) in 1987 – the eLearning Network (eLN), which adopted this title in 2000, is the UK’s foremost professional association
of users and developers of all forms of e-learning. It is a non-profit making body that exists to promote information and best practice among all those who are involved in the e-learning world, as well as act as a networking medium for its members.

For more information about the eLN and eLN events, call 01246 541904 or visit

Further information from:

Phil Green, The eLearning Network, 01246 541904
Bob Little, Bob Little Press & PR, 01727 860405
Company: eLearning Network
Contact Name: Bob Little
Contact Email:
Contact Phone: 00 44 (0) 1 727 860405

Visit website »