Published: Thu Mar 17 2005

Nitin Sawhney fans eager to get a first listen to his forthcoming album Philtre should check out the iTunes Store on 4 April when five tracks will be exclusively available to download, four weeks ahead of the album's official release! The sampler will cost £3.95 to download, and the first 500 customers will receive an EXCLUSIVE, LIMITED EDITION three track CD promo of previously unreleased live tracks from "Nitin Sawhney: Live at the Royal Albert Hall, 2001."

Philtre, Nitin's seventh studio album in eleven years, is without doubt his finest work to date. Inspired by elements of all his recent projects, in particular his return to DJ’ing, Sawhney collated ideas for the album over several months last year and by the time he locked himself away to record, found the music flowed more easily than ever. The result is an astonishing collection of songs that take the listener on a journey through global club culture, Indian classical music, Bengali folk, traditional flamenco, blues, old soul and R&B. On Philtre, drum’n’bass beats rub shoulders with sitars, flutes float over classical piano. Hip-hop, scratching, trip-hop, castanets and flamenco guitars sit alongside hypnotic strings and funky basslines.

Renowned for the quality of his vocal collaborators, Sawhney has sourced his strongest line-up to date for Philtre. Philadelphia-based Vikter Duplaix, Bollywood soundtrack star Reena Bhardwaj, Spanish collective Ojos de Brujo, Ninja Tune’s Fink and human beatbox Jason Singh join regular collaborators Tina Grace, Jayanta Bose, Taio and the soulful Sharon Duncan, as well as striking new discovery Jacob Golden and, on Rag Doll, even Sawhney’s mum.

In order to claim the free 'Nitin Sawhney: Live At The Royal Albert Hall' CD, purchasers must forward their proof of purchase email to On 2 May all 17 tracks of the new album Philtre will be available on iTunes for £9.99 and the sampler will be deleted.

The five tracks available from iTunes on 4 April are:

1. Journey (Vocals - Victor Duplaix)
2. Mausam (Vocals - Reena Bhardwaj & Murtaza Khan)
3. Dead Man (Vocals - Fink, Jayanta Bose & Reena Bhardwaj)
4. Noches En Vela Part 2 (ft. Ojos de Brujo)
5. The Search (Vocals - Reena Bhardwaj)
Company: FNIK PR
Contact Name: Rakhee
Contact Email:
Contact Phone: 07830 275 275

Visit website »