Canadian Country Music Association Announces Nominees for Fans' Choice Award

From: AristoMedia
Published: Thu Jul 24 2008

The Canadian Country Music Association has announced the nominees for the Fans' Choice Award: Paul Brandt, George Canyon, Doc Walker, Emerson Drive and Jessie Farrell.

Beginning Friday, July 25 until Sunday, September 7 at 11:59 EST, the public can vote online at for their choice. The winner will be announced during the CCMA Awards in Winnipeg, Manitoba on September 8, 2008. The show will be broadcast nationally on CBC Television at 8pm with encore broadcasts on CMT.

"We are thrilled to be able to give the fans the opportunity to get involved and vote for their favorite artist" said Chair of the CCMA Awards & Balloting Committee, Lynne Foster. "All of the artists always comment that this is one of the most memorable awards, as it is direct from the fans."

The most awarded artist in CCMA history, Paul Brandt's latest CD Risk recently took home the Juno Award for Best Country Recording.

Multi-award winning artist George Canyon released his latest CD Classics on October 9, 2007. The CD is composed entirely of classic country song covers, with the first single being a cover of Johnny Cash's "Ring of Fire."

Grammy nominated Emerson Drive have exploded onto the charts with their latest CD Countrified. Emerson Drive have a total of six CCMA Awards under their belts to date.

This year's Honorary Chairs of Country Music Week, Manitoba natives Doc Walker won the 2007 CCMA Award for Album of the Year. Their latest album, entitled Beautiful Life was released earlier this year.

Jessie Farrell's debut album Nothing Fancy has earned her three Top 20 singles on the Canadian Country music charts and a nomination for the 2007 CCMA Female Vocalist of the Year.

Tickets for the CCMA Awards are on sale now and range in price from $39.50 - $79.50. Tickets are available at, by phone at 204.780.3333 or at any Ticketmaster location. Confirmed performers for the September 8 show at the MTS Centre in Winnipeg, Manitoba include Dierks Bentley, Doc Walker, Emerson Drive and Johnny Reid.

For details about Country Music Week and the CCMA Awards, visit

2008 CCMA Awards Nominees will be announced July 30 at press conferences in Winnipeg and Toronto.
Company: AristoMedia
Contact Name: AristoMedia
Contact Email:
Contact Phone: 615-269-7071

Visit website »