Kilrush Blooms At The Community Environmental Awards 2008

From: Dunphy Public Relations
Published: Tue Nov 18 2008

Awards were presented for a range of competitions that included Clare In Bloom, Best Public Seat and Co-operation Ireland's Pride of Place.

Kilrush was named overall winner of the 2008 ‘Clare In Bloom’ competition. Scoring highly in landscaping and the range of planting, colour, litter control and waste prevention, the people of Kilrush and the Kilrush Tidy Towns Group were overwhelmed with achieving the top prize.

The "Clare in Bloom" competition is a motivational mechanism for the many small local based groups throughout the county to enhance the visual impact of their towns and villages by means of flower, tree and shrub planting.

This year’s competition attracted marks towards waste prevention, maintaining bring banks and energy initiatives. Judging takes place from mid July to mid August, considers such factors as colour, size, variety, location and appropriateness of the various planting schemes along with the management of litter. Categories are based on population size with a first, second and third prize in each category of €1100, €550 €300 respectively.

Mayor of Clare Cllr. Madeline Taylor-Quinn last night announced Kilrush as the overall award winner of 2008 ‘Clare In Bloom’ competition for achieving the highest marks in the competition and presented them with a cheque of €1500.

Category 1 was won by Kildysart Tidy Towns Committee, who finished ahead of Quin Development Association (2nd) and Shannon Tidy Towns (3rd). Ballynacally Development Association was named the winner of Category 2, with Tuamgraney Development Association and Kilmihil Community Development Association achieving second and third places, respectively. Category 3 was won by Labasheeda Community Pride with Ballyvaughan Tidy Towns in second and Bridgetown Tidy Towns in third.

A Special Endeavour Award went to Knock for the huge community effort demonstrated by the overall appearance of the village and great use of colour in this West Clare village. The Cathaoirleach’s Environmental Award, as well as a cheque for €1000 was presented to St Marys Community Development Lissycasey.

Mayor of Clare, Cllr Madeline Taylor-Quinn acknowledged that Lissycasey, as the main thoroughfare to West Clare, presented itself in a very positive manner with a blaze of colour and very generous use of planting and landscaping.

The Best Public Seat Award acknowledges communities for tasteful public seats that encourage people to take a few moments repose in pleasant surrounding. Ballyea scooped first prize for a third year in a row with Ballynacally second and Knock third.

The Pride of Place competition is an annual competition, which is run with Co-Operation Ireland in conjunction with Local Authorities north and south of the border.

Clare County Council and Co-Operation Ireland honoured the local contribution that Tuamgraney Development Association, The Burren Centre, Kilfenora, West Clare Resource Centre, Miltown Malbay, OBAIR Newmarket on Fergus, and Gleann an Oir Residents Association Shannon have made.

Addressing the gathered guests and award winners at the ceremony, Tom Dowling, Meath County Manager and Chairperson Pride of Place competition said: "It is important to recognise the communities who participated in the Pride of Place Awards during 2008. I think it is fitting that we are acknowledging their valuable contribution at this awards ceremony tonight".

Addressing those in attendance at last night’s awards ceremony, Mayor of Clare Cllr. Madeline Taylor-Quinn said, "It is heart warming to see the excitement and pride in this hall tonight. I would like to congratulate all those honoured at this ceremony. You have put in a huge effort throughout the year to enhance your towns and villages. Please keep on doing what you’re doing. You are a tremendous asset to County Clare".

According to Councillor Patricia McCarthy, Chairperson of the Environment, Emergency Services and Consumer Protection Strategic Policy Committee: "Community groups the length and breadth of Clare are doing excellent work to improve the environment around us. I would encourage more groups to get involved with the Tidy Towns competition, in which we have been performing exceptionally well in during recent years. Information on how to register for the national competition is available from the Environment Section of Clare County Council."

Betty Devanny, Administrative Officer with Clare County Council acknowledged the generous contributions received from the sponsors of the awards. "I would like to thank ESB Moneypoint, Roche Ireland and Shannon Development whose continuing support enables Clare County Council to award prizes worthy of the effort shown by applicants": Ms. Devanny stated.


- Further information is available from Betty Devanny, Clare County Council on 065 6846387 or

Mark Dunphy
Dunphy Public Relations
Company: Dunphy Public Relations
Contact Name: Dunphy Public Relations
Contact Email:
Contact Phone: 00353868534900

Visit website »